Legacies from Legends in PR

Legacies from Legends

In 2007, Legacies from Legends in Public Relations was first introduced to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the founding of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) with personal messages for young professionals. Written by “living legends,” these men and women have been honored by their colleagues for leadership in the development of the public relations profession. Their comments capture observations from experience and useful directions for future practice.

These honorees are professionals who have received one or more lifetime honors from three major public relations organizations: The Arthur W. Page Society’s Hall of Fame and Distinguished Service Awards; the Institute for Public Relations’ Alexander Hamilton Medal; and PRSA’s Gold Anvil Award and its Educators Academy Ferguson Award.

This book continues to inform and inspire those who will shape the next generation of public relations.


Ashooh, Nick

Barkelew, Ann H.

Block, Edward M.

Bogart, Judith S.

Budd, John F., Jr.

Burger, Chester

Burson, Harold

Culp, E. Ronald

Dalton Jr., Harry Jirou “Jerry”

Dukes, Ofield

Edelman, Daniel J.

Epley, Joe S.

Felton, John W.

Foster, Lawrence G.

Golin, Alvin

Graham, John D.

Grunig, James E.

Harris, Steven J.

Harris, Thomas L.

Harrison, E. Bruce

Herman, Michael L.

Hoog, Thomas

Hunter, Barbara

Iwata, Jon C.

Kraus, Margery

Koten, John A.

Laurie, Marilyn

Martin, Tom

Mau, Richard R.

McCormick, Gary

Miller, Debra A.

Murphy, James E.

Nielsen, Willard D.

Paluszek, John

Parke, Isobel

Phair, Judy

Plank, Betsy

Procter-Rogers, Cheryl I.

Reed, John M.

Rhody, Ron

Spong, Doug

Stocker, Kurt P.

Traverse-Healy, Timothy

Vecchione, Joseph A.

Weiner, Richard

Weiss, Rhoda

West, Mary Beth

Wright, Donald K.

Wylie, Frank W.



Resources of Interest

The Plank Center is committed to helping you expand your skills and advance the practice of public relations.